What Dog is right for me?

In the shelter we see all types of shapes and sizes, pedigrees and mixes and various ages of dogs from 7 week old puppies to the older dogs in the shelter and we see people wondering up and down the cages looking for that perfect dog for them, but which one do they choose?

If I get a chance and no staff are nearby I try to talk to the people I am not really supposed to do it I am supposed to direct them to the front desk, but walking these dogs you get a good look at them and a feel for what their energy levels are and asking a few questions about the possible new owners you can maybe help them make the right choice.

The first question I ask is what do you want from the dog? and they look a little strange to start with as they think the first question I should be asking is what type of dog are you looking for?

but to be honest most people have not got a clue what type of dog they want if they have never had a dog before they only know size wise but most just want to see one that they think looks good to them but to me this could be a fundamental mistake and the reason why dogs are returned unsuitable!

The dogs breed and personality has to be a consideration surely to fit around their lifestyles unless of course they are willing to completely changetheir life around for the dog, which is doubtful all though some changes will be made, but it is unlikely that if they do no exercise at all that that suddenly they are going to take hourly walks four times a day, however however there is always the exception.

so I say to them what do you want from the dog? and then the answers come, for company, for affection, to fit in our active lifestyle etc etc

then I ask them how active are you? or intend to be? this is also important as an active breed needs to be exercised properly or they could encounter a sad dog or see behaviour problems for example a small backyard and no extra walking is not good for a large fit active dog etc.

We then try and point them in the right direction of dogs suitable, but time is of the essence and I would have to leave to walk a dog, but its food for thought for some of them.

For instance the other day an elderly lady came in to find a dog and was looking for a “quiet dog” anyone who has visited a shelter knows the noise of excited dogs especially in a shelter, there is no such thing as a quiet dog in there unless its so terrified its just shaking in his or her cage! this lady in question went to a dog named alisha, she was quiet and just lying down and the lady was very interested in her now alisha is shep/lab mix and gives me a run for my money I can tell you, she is a runner and a puller and the reason she was quiet was she just had surgery and was feeling miserable! thank goodness that old lady did not adopt her can you just imagine? that poor dog would have been returned within hours and not even thinking about alisha could have pulled that the poor woman over!

this is Alisha when she felt well again 2 days later!

10360203_10204446235827527_1051631127692701348_n

My dog from the shelter Buddy is a hound mix, he is young and very energetic and gets up to 6 walks a day as well as playtime but there is nothing more he loves than going in the woods and using his nose, living up to his breed.

this is buddy in his favourite place – in the woods πŸ™‚

10449525_10204446221787176_484901661716451115_n

when adopting a shelter dog the best question you can ask yourself and staff is what dog is right for me?

I wish people would do some research into the breeds, not too much just enough to know a bit about them are they runners, sniffers, jumpers, diggers etc, I mean I know Buddy is a hound mix but I am not ever going to go hunting! but I know a sniff in the woods makes him feel good and is in his blood and tracking squirrels is always going to be his thing no matter how much I try or wish it wasn`t, he is not being bad.

10736189_1479701468970211_1032886963_n

Buddy is always on a harness and a 23ft leash and I have given up in the woods trying to make him go the way I want to go, he just follows his nose and I follow him and he gets me in some right ole states and tangles πŸ™‚ but I will never let him off as once he has a scent he switches off to the world around him as his instincts have kicked in!

10603505_10204446226547295_4916061101074261181_n

I recommend anyone adopting especially if never owned a dog before or have children and pets at home to take a few days to think about it, there is no rush and you can put a dog on hold until you decide, spend some time with the dog, take it for a walk, so the adoption is right for everyone and no dogs get returned and no human gets disappointed or deterred but then that is my hope for a better dog world.

Whatever dog someone adopts, there is always some adjustment, understanding and training on both sides to be expected, there is no such thing as a perfect dog or perfect human it is a relationship to be worked on and it is continuous in my humble opinion.

Love is great and what all dogs need but it is not enough just on its own, but it is better than what some of the shelter dogs have ever known and its a fantastic starting point!

Buddy watching a film with us enjoying a very occasional popcorn treat. Its not all woods πŸ™‚

10743435_1479723408968017_961711025_n

So please if you are looking for a dog go down to your nearest shelter or even give them some of your time, I have not regretted getting Buddy for a single second! sometimes a puppy is not the answer and puppy mills and pet stores with puppies in glass “fish tanks” will be subjects in my future blogs as some of these puppies end up in the shelters, the “out of date” used too often mothers are!

Introducing maggie who had just given birth to puppies 😦

10734108_10204446235027507_2222156912816131210_n 10615410_10204446237347565_355269979805880101_n

This entry was posted in animal adoption, animal behaviour, animal lovers, animal problems, animal shelters, dogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment